Fast Food – Palestinian Style

IMG_1374

Once again, I seem to be eating. We were traveling through Israel and the West Bank with my sister, who works for a NGO and has spent a lot of time there. She introduced us to shawarma. Seriously good stuff!

We stayed in Jericho in the West Bank for a few nights and had shawarma at a place in town. The restaurant had a cart on the street where they kept the food warm and prepared the shawarma. As we stood there on the street, we watched the tourists drive by in their air-conditioned buses. Sitting high above the streets and looking down on the activity. Never a part of it. Just looking on and not getting to really experience any of it. What a pity, to be so close and miss the opportunity to come to a better understanding of the people in the countries that you are visiting.  

IMG_1378

Wait a minute, he only had three of the flat bread that he needed. There were four of us. He told us that he needed to get some more. We stood on the sidewalk and talked and watched everything that was going on around us while we waited. The needed bread arrived. We didn’t see how the bread got there but were too hungry to spend much time thinking about it. When I was looking at my photos, I saw the delivery man that brought the bread.

IMG_1382

I think we might have been distracted by the truck loads of Palestinian Forces driving by.

Everyone knows that after a good meal a cup of coffee is needed and here’s the guy for you. Starbucks Palestinian style.

IMG_1392

Author: travelingwithcheri

There are 2 things that I really enjoy in: real estate and travel. I have been able to incorporate both of those interests in my life. I am able to work as both a real estate broker/agent and travel advisor. When I’m not working, I enjoy traveling with my husband.

Leave a Reply

